11 apply to be next state prosecutor

Eleven attorneys have applied to become the state’s next chief prosecutor of public corruption cases, according to the chair of the panel that will recommend whom Gov. Martin O’Malley should name state prosecutor.

Four of the applicants seeking to succeed retiring State Prosecutor Robert A. Rohrbaugh have experience in the office, including current Deputy State Prosecutor Thomas “Mike” McDonough and past employees are Isabel M. Cumming, now chief of economic crimes in the Prince George’s County state’s attorney’s office; Assistant Cecil County State’s Attorney Steven Trostle; and Thomas Krehely, now in private practice, said John M. Maloney, chairman of the State Prosecutor Selection and Disabilities Commission.

Also seeking the post are Charles County State’s Attorney Leonard Collins, whose term is expiring; Emmet Davitt, deputy general counsel for the Public Service Commission; former Talbot County State’s Attorney Philip Foster; Baltimore City Orphan’s Court Judge Lewyn Scott Garrett; Glenn Klavans, a former Baltimore City prosecutor; Adam Lippe, chief of white collar crime in the Baltimore County state’s attorney’s office; and Thomas Tamm, formerly of the Montgomery County state’s attorney’s office, said Maloney, who is deputy Montgomery County state’s attorney.

The commission will review the applicants before submitting its recommendation to O’Malley within the next 40 days. The governor will then have 30 days in which to appoint or reject the person nominated.

Rohrbaugh has announced he will stay on the job until his successor is named.

Besides Maloney, commission members include Howard County State’s Attorney Dario J. Broccolino; former Maryland Sen. Sandra B. Schrader, R-Howard; former state Del. C. Richard D’Amato, D-Anne Arundel; Timothy A. Perry, a partner at Gordon, Feinblatt, Rothman, Hoffberger & Hollander LLC in Baltimore; and Kathryn Higgins, who serves on the General Assembly Compensation Commission, which reviews and proposes changes to the compensation of Maryland legislators.

Maryland Attorney General Douglas F. Gansler serves as an ex-officio member of the selection commission.

Editor’s note: This story appeared in our print edition on Oct. 4.