Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Barbara Mikulski wins 5th term in U.S. Senate

An Associated Press analysis of exit poll data shows that Maryland’s Barbara Mikulski has won a fifth term in the U.S. Senate.

The Baltimore Democrat easily defeated Republican Eric Wargotz Tuesday. If she completes her term, Mikulski will tie former colleague Paul Sarbanes as Maryland’s longest-serving U.S. senator.

All eight Maryland House members are also up for re-election.

In the most competitive House race, freshman Democrat Frank Kratovil faces a strong challenge from Republican state Sen. Andy Harris in the 1st District.

Kratovil narrowly defeated Harris two years ago after the GOP had held the seat for 18 years.

Harris portrayed Kratovil as a puppet of national Democratic leaders despite Kratovil’s vote against the health care overhaul.