Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

On the Move, 5/25: Schraeder appointed medical director of oncology center at St. Joseph Medical Center

Dr. Richard Schraeder

Richard Schraeder, a medical oncologist and hematologist, has been appointed medical director for the Medical Oncology Center of the Cancer Institute at St. Joseph Medical Center, of Towson. Dr. Schraeder has been with the Cancer Institute since 2007 and is involved in clinical trials work with the National Cancer Institute Community Cancer Centers Program. He received his medical degree from the MCP-Hahnemann School of Medicine in Philadelphia and completed internal medicine residency training and fellowship in hematology and oncology at the University of Maryland Medical System.


Kaitlin M. Murphy has been promoted to marketing coordinator at GWWO Architects, of Baltimore. She joined the firm in 2009 as office administrator and marketing assistant with a background that included work as an event planner and public relations assistant. Murphy has a bachelor’s degree in communications from Loyola University Maryland.


John Hoey, president and CEO of the Y of Central Maryland, is an Ernst &; Young Entrepreneur of The Year 2011 Maryland Award finalist. The winner will be announced at a gala June 23 at the Baltimore Marriott Waterfront.


Rob Windsor, CEO of First Financial Federal Credit Union, of Lutherville, has been appointed to the Maryland and District of Columbia Credit Union Association’s board of directors. Windsor has been First Financial’s CEO since 1996. From 1983 to 1996, he was CEO of Johns Hopkins Federal Credit Union. Windsor is a Certified Public Accountant and a Certified Financial Planner. He served six years on the board of the Credit Union Foundation of Maryland and D.C.; he has been a member of the Baltimore chapter’s board since 2003 and now is treasurer.


Three Maryland teachers have been selected to participate in the Library of Congress Teaching with Primary Sources Summer Teacher Institute. They are: Beverly Nichols, of Silver Spring; Sandy Rodeheaver, of Garrett County Public Schools; and Dana Schneider, of Sligo Middle School, in Chevy Chase. Participants in the five-day programs learn effective ways to use primary sources in the classroom.

Catoctin Mountain Park has been awarded a Park Steward Grant for the 2011-2012 school year by the National Park Foundation. The program, funded by the Bank of America, gives high school teachers and students the opportunity to explore the relevance of national parks and encourages them to become civically engaged stewards of their national parks. North Hagerstown High School students, led by master teacher Wendy Fraker, will participate in the removal of invasive plant species while staying at the park’s Camp Greentop, then act as mentors for middle school students on day trips to the park. The program is a collaboration between the National Park Service, the National Park Foundation, the Catoctin Forest Alliance, the Alice Ferguson Foundation and Washington County Public Schools.