Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

O’Malley signs congressional redistricting bill

ANNAPOLIS — Gov. Martin O’Malley has signed legislation outlining Maryland’s congressional redistricting map

Gov. Martin O'Malley, center, speaks before signing a congressional redistricting bill between Senate President Thomas V. Mike Miller, left, and Speaker of the House of Delegates Michael Busch during a special session in Annapolis, Md., Thursday, Oct. 20, 2011. The districts were redrawn for the next 10 years in response to the 2010 census.

The Democratic governor signed the measure on Thursday, shortly after the state Senate took a final vote to correct about 24 typographical errors in the bill.

The House of Delegates passed the bill on Wednesday.

Maryland has eight seats in the U.S. House of Representatives. The districts were being redrawn for the next 10 years in response to the 2010 census.

Democrats who control the General Assembly say the map reflects population growth in the suburbs of the nation’s capital and along the Interstate corridor northwest of Washington. But Republicans denounced the map as gerrymandering in an effort to move more Democrats into Republican Rep. Roscoe Bartlett’s district in western Maryland.