Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Baltimore city, county added to Maryland disaster list

Federal aid is being made available to support recovery efforts in Baltimore and Baltimore County following Hurricane Irene.

The Maryland Emergency Management Agency and the Federal Emergency Management Agency announced Tuesday that the city and county would be added to list of Maryland jurisdictions that were declared a disaster area for public assistance.

The disaster declaration also includes the counties of Calvert, Caroline, Charles, Dorchester, Harford, Kent, Queen Anne’s, Somerset, St. Mary’s, Talbot, Wicomico and Worcester.

Local governments and certain nonprofit groups can apply for funding for emergency services related to the hurricane, including debris removal and repair and replacement of roads, bridges, buildings and other facilities.

Under the program, FEMA will fund 75 percent of the cost for eligible repair work.