Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

On the Move, 11/11: CCBC’s Tipton wins national award for supporting interpreters for the deaf

Carol C. Tipton

Carol C. Tipton, associate professor in the Interpreter Preparation Program at the Community College of Baltimore County, has been named the 2011 Distinguished Service Award recipient by the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf. The national organization recognized Tipton for her professional service to the deaf and interpreting communities dating to the 1970s. She has been instrumental in the inception of local, regional and national programs, including as an associate research scientist, staff interpreter and associate professor for the New York University Deafness Research and Training Center while simultaneously coordinating a regional center of the National Interpreter Training Consortium. Tipton has taught at CCBC Catonsville since 1988.


Richard M. Shank, a CPA with Gross, Mendelsohn & Associates, of Baltimore, has earned the Certified Management Accountant designation from the Institute of Certified Management Accountants. Shank is a member of Gross Mendelsohn’s Manufacturing & Distribution Group and a supervisor in the firm’s audit and accounting department; he specializes in working with manufacturers.


Kimberly Sikalis of the Howard County Police Department recently was named the county’s Employee of the Year. Sikalis was recognized for her ability to quickly and effectively integrate change while remaining calm when faced with multiple tasks in emergency situations. She also was cited for her work teaching the National Crime Information Center recertification classes to county employees and members of outside agencies; revising the Maryland State Police METERS/NCIC Recertification PowerPoint for the Communications Division; and helping ensure a smooth transition for the police and fire departments with the installation of the Computer Aided Dispatch System.

Maryland Attorney General Douglas F. Gansler received the LifeLock Ultimate Award at the 10th Annual C3 Conference at the University of Maryland, College Park. The award underscores the commitment of the C3 Conference and the Office of the Attorney General to protect Marylanders from identity theft and the financial damage it generates.


The Maryland Technology Development Corp.’s board of directors has three new members: Carlos Montague, president, Port Tobacco Consulting; Konstantina “Tina” Katcheves, chief U.S. intellectual property counsel, Lonza America Inc.; and Newton B. “Newt” Fowler III, a partner at Rosenberg Martin Greenberg. TEDCO’s 15-member board is appointed by the governor for four-year terms. The corporation, an independent entity, was established by the Maryland General Assembly in 1998 to facilitate the creation of businesses and foster their growth throughout the state.

The Baltimore School for the Arts has added three members to its board of directors: Lisa Akchin is the University of Maryland, Baltimore County’s assistant to the president and associate vice president of marketing and public relations; she is also vice president of the Baltimore College Town Network Governing Board and has been a member of the Baltimore City School Board since 2010. Ray Bank invests in and advises small, private, marketing-driven companies in the consumer, direct marketing, and services sectors; he is also a director of Regency Centers, a publicly held REIT. Bank has a degree from the University of Baltimore Law School, and is a trustee and treasurer of the Baltimore Community Foundation. Anita Hilson has been the director of admissions of McDonogh School since 2003; she served as assistant attorney general of Maryland from 1990 to 2001.