Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Wood named senior VP by Severn Savings Bank

Chris Wood

Chris Wood has joined Severn Savings Bank as senior vice president in the community mortgage lending group. He will work in the Westgate Circle headquarters in Annapolis. Wood most recently was sales manager of the Annapolis and Waldorf offices of Bank of America Home Loans. He has 23 years of experience in mortgage lending businesses in Anne Arundel County, including prior ownership and management of First Priority Lending in Severna Park. Severn Savings Bank has branches in Annapolis, Edgewater and Glen Burnie.


Craig Williams of Becker Morgan Group recently received the Award for Excellence in Digital/Hybrid Media in the 37th Annual Ken Roberts Memorial Delineation Competition for his 3D illustration titled “Red,” which also received the American Society of Architectural Illustrator’s AIP26 Koichi Yasuda Juror Award. Williams has 15 years of architectural rendering and 3D modeling experience with the firm’s in-house graphic design department.


Jeannette L. Gaines has been named chief operating officer for Dynamic Shared Services, a business venture recently launched by AVF Consulting founder Andrew Fass. The company provides accounting, membership management, dues processing, and reporting services to nonprofits and unions nationwide. The idea began when AVF client Service Employees International Union wanted to provide accounting services to some of its local union offices. Gaines was director of financial services at Service Employees International Union’s Member Action Service Center. Before that, Gaines was controller and senior director of information technology at ACO Hardware.


The Abell Foundation has awarded Baltimore-based nonprofit Feeding the People a $5,000 grant to provide low-income diabetics with home-delivered meals, diabetes education and ongoing support. The Abell Foundation is dedicated to the enhancement of the quality of life in Baltimore and Maryland. Feeding the People’s mission is to develop and implement a research-based model of nutrition-related in-home care for under-served, low-income diabetics to reduce the incidence of diabetes and diabetes-related illnesses in Maryland.

Health Care

Thomas Smith has been appointed director of palliative care for Johns Hopkins Medicine and the inaugural Harry J. Duffey Family Professor of Palliative Care in the Department of Oncology. He will lead palliative care efforts throughout the system in addition to the Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center. Dr. Smith is board-certified in oncology and pain/palliative medicine; his research focuses on neuropathic pain, care at the end of life, and bending the cost curve in patients with life-limiting conditions. He is a spokesperson for the Center to Advance Palliative Care and the American Society of Clinical Oncology. Dr. Smith previously was co-director of the Massey Cancer Center Cancer Control and Prevention Program at Virginia Commonwealth University’s Massey Cancer Center.

Dr. Sara Sukumar, a Johns Hopkins Medicine breast cancer researcher, recently received $50,000 to encourage rapid translation of her basic research on biomarkers into a commercially available test that could predict the best treatment options for some women with breast cancer. She is co-director of the Breast Cancer Program at the Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center.

Three of the Prostate Cancer Foundation’s 24 new Young Investigators are from Johns Hopkins Medicine. The Young Investigator awards are designed to encourage the most innovative minds in cancer research to focus their careers on prostate cancer. Each is awarded a grant of $225,000 over a three-year period; funding is also matched dollar-for-dollar by each recipient’s research institution. The three Hopkins winners are Michael Haffner, M.D.; Corinne Joshu, Ph.D.; and Tamara Lotan, M.D.

Real Estate
The Greater Baltimore Board of Realtors has named Susan Myszkowski president of its board of directors for 2012. Gwendolyn Wynn is president-elect, Sharon McKenna is vice president, and Tasha Linton is treasurer. Stephen Cooper, Doris Hall-Scheeler, Jeffrey Margolies, Ian Parrish, Ashley Richardson and Jose Rivas were appointed to two-year terms on the board of directors, and Carl Herber was appointed to a one-year term. The organization last month named David W. McIlvaine its 2012 Realtor of the Year. Yolanda Powell was named Rookie Realtor of the Year, Sharon McKenna was named Distinguished Sales Associate of the Year, and Alison Noger was named Affiliate of the Year. Linda Dieter received the association’s Community Service Award, and Peg Castle was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award.