Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Movers & Shakers, 3/8: Harman elected VP of Eastern Shore civil engineers chapter

Jeffrey A. Harman

Jeffrey A. Harman, a senior associate of the Becker Morgan Group, was recently elected vice president of the Eastern Shore Chapter of the American Society of Civil Engineers. Harman’s experience includes feasibility studies, site planning, roadway design, sediment and stormwater management design, drainage design, water distribution, wastewater collection and transmission, pumping stations, and traffic and transportation analysis and studies. Becker Morgan Group provides civil engineering, architecture, surveying, and interior design services.


Mercedes Bell has been hired by BGR CPAs, of Columbia, as senior accountant in the audit department. Bell has bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Virginia Tech. She previously was employed by McGladrey & Pullen LLP.


Kenneth M. Stuzin has been appointed to the board of trustees at Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center, in Baltimore. Stuzin is a partner at Brown Advisory, where he is responsible for managing the firm’s large-cap growth portfolios. He also is the lead manager for the Brown Advisory Growth Equity Fund. Stuzin is a former Board of Trustee member at the Bryn Mawr School for Girls and is now a member of the school’s Endowment Committee.


Marnell A. Cooper has been appointed to the Baltimore City Board of School Commissioners, and Robert W. Heck and David J. Stone have been reappointed.

Eight Maryland middle and high school students who received national honors at last year’s National History Day Competition, and two 2011 Maryland History Day Teachers of the Year, recently received commendations at sessions of the Maryland Senate and House of Delegates: Ethan McComb, a student at Plum Point Middle School in Calvert County, received the Gold Medal for his exhibit, “The Marshall Plan: America’s Soft Power Diplomacy Saves Europe from Economic and Political Chaos Following World War II.” His teacher was Merry Ellen Fallica. McComb is the first Maryland student to win the national award. Michael Keen, who is taught at home by his mother, Christine Keen, in Montgomery County, received the Bronze Medal for his paper, “Lost Opportunities for Peace: Vietnam, 1945-1950.” Two Howard County students, Emily Galik, of Marriotts Ridge High School, and Maria Viera, of Mayfield Woods Middle School , received the Outstanding State Entry award. Camila Uechi, of the Bullis School in Montgomery County, received a scholarship to Chaminade University in Hawaii, and Kane Herrick, also a Bullis School student, was a finalist at the national competition, as was Duncan Rheingans-Yoo, of Oakland Mills Middle School in Howard County. Alexandra La Pierre of Broadneck High School in Anne Arundel County, had her exhibit on the Munich Agreement of 1938 displayed at the National Museum of American History. Rebecca Castle, a teacher at Isaac Gourdine Middle School in Prince George’s County, received the Maryland Middle School History Day Teacher of the Year Award. Amie Sanner, a teacher at Calvert High School in Calvert County, received the Maryland High School History Day Teacher of the Year Award.

Jay Lilly has been selected chair of the College of Southern Maryland Foundation’s board of directors. He and his wife, Mary, received the college’s board of trustees’ Distinguished Service Award at the winter commencement. They own two real estate businesses. Three members have been added to the foundation’s board: Michelle Aughinbaugh is vice president, business development, at the St. Charles Companies; she has a bachelor’s degree from the University of Maryland University College. Eric Bailey is project manager for commercial property management at Marrick Homes; his father, Charles “Rick” Bailey, served on the board from 2000 to 2007. Christine M. Rush is chief financial officer, executive vice president and corporate secretary of Old Line Bank; she has master’s and bachelor’s degrees from the University of Maryland, and an associate degree from CSM.


Lavinia Lee has been promoted to director of the Maryland Comptroller’s office’s information technology division. Lee has worked for the state for 28 years. She had been the interim director since April 2011. Lee attended University of Maryland University College and Anne Arundel Community College. Renee Kenney, a CPA, is now deputy director after a year as a director of internal audits.