Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Six more applicants seek seat on CSA

The Appellate Judicial Nominating Commission on Monday announced six new applicants to succeed retired Judge James R. Eyler on the Court of Special Appeals.

They are Cathleen C. Brockmeyer, an assistant Maryland attorney general in the criminal appeals division; James K. MacAlister, of Saiontz & Kirk P.A. in Baltimore; Brian J. Murphy, a Baltimore solo practitioner; Denise O. Shaffer, executive administrative law judge and deputy director of quality assurance at the Office of Administrative Hearings; Kimberly Smith Ward, a commissioner on the Maryland Workers’ Compensation Commission; and Martin E. Wolf, a partner at Gordon & Wolf Chtd. in Towson.

The commission is scheduled to meet on Sept. 10 to winnow the list of applicants before submitting names to Gov. Martin O’Malley for his consideration.

Those chosen by the commission will join three people already placed before the governor: Daniel A. Friedman, counsel to the General Assembly; Public Service Commission Chairman Douglas R.M. Nazarian; and Andrew M. Baida, a partner at Rosenberg Martin Greenberg LLP in Baltimore.

Baida’s name had been automatically resubmitted to O’Malley because the commission had put it forth last year for a prior vacancy on the intermediate appellate court, which was created when Judge Ellen L. Hollander joined the U.S. District Court in Baltimore. In December, O’Malley elevated then-Baltimore City Circuit Court Judge Stuart R. Berger to succeed Hollander.

When the commission submitted Friedman’s and Nazarian’s names to O’Malley on June 26, the governor ordered the vacancy to be readvertised, citing his 2007 executive order that the nominating panel “shall endeavor to recommend” at least three candidates for each vacancy.

O’Malley is expected to choose Eyler’s successor from among the names the commission submits to him. Eyler, who now offers mediation and arbitration services through Eyler Dispute Resolution, represented the 2nd Appellate Circuit, which covers Harford and Baltimore counties. He left the bench May 1.