Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

The Daily Record names its 2013 Top 100 Women

The Daily Record is proud to announce its 2013 Top 100 Women. Since 1996, we’ve recognized more than 1,000 high-achieving Maryland women who are making an impact through their leadership, community service and mentoring.

The winners include 19 new inductees into the Circle of Excellence, meaning they have won this award two previous times.

All winners are selected by an outside panel of business leaders based on professional accomplishment, community involvement and commitment to mentoring.

The Top 100 Women event will be held May 6 at the Meyerhoff in Baltimore.

The winners are (an asterisk next to a name indicates a Circle of Excellence inductee):

Hon. Theresa M. Adams, Circuit Court for Frederick County

Elaine Amir, Johns Hopkins Univ – Montgomery County

Carol A. Beatty, The Arc of Howard County

Michelle Bell, 1st Choice LLC

Cynthia A. Berman, Kramon & Graham P.A.

C. Diane Wallace Booker, US Dream Academy

Cynthia J. Boyle, UMES School of Pharmacy and Health Professions

*Elizabeth J. Buck, Buck Distributing Company Inc.

Denise B. Carnaggio, Harford County Office of Economic Development

Joana Carneiro da Silva, Institute for Genome Sciences at the University of Maryland School of Medicine

Margaret Carty, Maryland Library Association

Joan Davidson, The Sheridan Group

Karen S. Deeley, MacKenzie Commercial Real Estate Services LLC

*Roberta E. Dillow, Howard Community College Board of Trustees

Veronique Diriker, University of Maryland Eastern Shore

Valarie Dock, Bolana Enterprises Inc.

Brenda Doles, HealthCare Resolution Services Inc.

Dolores Dorsainvil, D.C. Office of Bar Counsel

Donna Easton, Easton Communications Group

Lorece V. Edwards, Morgan State University

Ruth Fry, Saul Ewing LLP

Meisha Grimes, Community College of Baltimore County

Amy Gross, The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Foundation Inc.

Victoria L. Gruber, Office of the Senate President

*Teri M. Guarnaccia, Ballard Spahr LLP

Jennifer Gunner, Economic Alliance of Greater Baltimore

Marie S. Hartman, Hartman Executive Advisors

Mary Hastler, Harford County Public Library

Keiren Havens, Health Care for the Homeless Inc.

Mary Sapeta Helfrich, The Junior League of Baltimore

Sonja N. Hines, H & S Resources Corporation

Lisa A. Hall Johnson, Washington Gas Light Co.

*Kyri L. Jacobs, Bonnie Heneson Communications

Sharonda Johnson-Wilkes, SJ Wilkes LLC

Michele Judman, Wells Fargo

Patria de Lancer Julnes, University of Baltimore, School of Public & International Affairs

Susan Katz, The Growth Coach

*Karen Kauffman, University of Maryland School of Nursing

Janice Keene, Evergreen Heritage Center Foundation

Debbie A. Klis, Ballard Spahr LLP

Sheryl Davis Kohl, Beacon Staffing Alternatives Inc.

*Hon. Sherrie Lavine Krauser, Circuit Court for Prince George’s County

Sharon A. Kroupa, Venable LLP

Joyce A. Kuhns, Saul Ewing LLP

*Patricia McHugh Lambert, Pessin Katz Law P.A.

*Hon. Theresa Lawler, Baltimore County Orphans’ Court

*Andrea Leahy-Fucheck, Leahy & DeSmet LLC

Dr. Dawn J. Leonard, Northwest Hospital

Anne Y.F. Lin, Notre Dame of Maryland University School of Pharmacy

Michelle Lipkowitz, Saul Ewing LLP

Karen E. Lischick, The Palmer Foundation

Maravene S. Loeschke, Towson University

Marlene Mahipat, Mediquest LLC

*Sister Patricia Marie McCarron, Notre Dame Preparatory School

Brenda McChriston, Spectrum HR Solutions

*Content McLaughlin, McLaughlin Law Group

Ann B. Mech, University of Maryland School of Nursing

Denise K. Mersinger, Merrill Lynch

Barbara Messing, GBMC

Jeannette M. Mills, Baltimore Gas and Electric Co.

Kathleen Momme, United Way of the Lower Eastern Shore

Peggy Naleppa, Peninsula Regional Medical Center

Nancy Navarro, Montgomery County Council

Dr. Sandra Bruce Nichols, UnitedHealthcare

Doris J. Nipps, PenMar Development Corp.

Margaret Ann Nolan, Howard County Office of Law

Patricia Omaña, Entravision Communications (Univision)

Mary E. Owens-Southall, Coppin State University

*Sandy S. Pagnotti, Ronald McDonald House Charities of Baltimore

Necole Parker, The ELOCEN Group LLC

*Cynthia L. Perini,, Hendershot Financial Group

*Bonnie Lamdin Phipps, St. Agnes Healthcare/Ascension Health

Karen Pitsley, Transforming Architecture LLC

Colleen Pleasant-Kline, Miles & Stockbridge PC

Nancy Politsch, Wells Fargo

Karen L. Proudford, Morgan State University

*Eileen M. Rehrmann, Board of Appeals Maryland Unemployment Insurance

Barbara Resnick, University of Maryland School of Nursing

Dr. Tonja L. Ringgold, Maryland Higher Education Commission (MHEC)

Kimberly Y. Robinson, Funk & Bolton P.A.

Beth Rosenwald, RBC Wealth Management

Marianne Rowan-Braun, R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center

*Lisa Rowen, University of Maryland Medical Center

Jan Russell, Savage River Lodge

Dru Schmidt-Perkins, 1000 Friends of Maryland

Caroline Sherman, UHY Advisors Mid-Atlantic

Janet Simmons, Innovative Global Security Solutions LLC

*Darlene Smith, University of Baltimore, Merrick School of Business

Dana Stebbins, Melwood Horticultural Training Center

Bonnie B. Stein, PNC Bank

Karen Syrylo, Karen T. Syrylo, CPA

Deborah Scott Thomas, Data Solutions & Technology Inc.

Sandi Timmins, House of Ruth Maryland

*Hon. Leslie Smith Turner, Howard County Orphans’ Court

Donna Van Scoy, Law Office of Donna E. Van Scoy LLC

Maureen van Stone, Kennedy Krieger Institute

Alison Velez Lane, Campaign Train Group

*Kimberly Wagner, Steelehouse LLC

Cheryl Washington, East Baltimore Development Inc.

Cathy L. Yost, The Business Monthly


  1. Congratulations to all the winners, especially to my President and CEO Deborah Scott Thomas, she really is a mover and a shaker throughout the community.

  2. Congratulations to Darlene Smith. A well-deserved accolade to a wonderful leader! The Merrick School of Business couldn’t have a better dean.

  3. Sybil W. Martin

    Congratulations to Darlene Smith! Cheers to a wonderful leader!

  4. Marla Bluestone-Winters

    Congratulations to Keiren Havens – a true advocate!

  5. Congrats to Cheryl Washington! She is so deserving of this recognition!

  6. A very hefty congratulations to Sandi Timmins. A tireless, committed individual to womankind.

  7. Good Job Mom! I’m a little biased but Dori Nipps has always represented what is right and just, even to her own detriment. She represents and advocates for people and places that cannot help themselves. Myself and many others look up to her and wish her the best!

  8. What a wonderful honor! Congratulations, Sandi Timmins, you surely deserve it.