Judicial elections recap

Two circuit court judges were defeated Tuesday in bids to receive 15-year terms on the bench.

Both Frederick and Charles counties will have new judges, while incumbents in Montgomery and Wicomico counties survived challengers, according to election results.

The full rundown:

– In Charles County, court auditor Thomas R. Simpson Jr. defeated Judge Jerome R. Spencer by 517 votes. Spencer had been on the bench since November 2012. Another sitting judge, H. James West, was the leading vote-getter by more than 6,000 votes. Simpson defeated both Spencer and West in the Republican primary, setting up the general election rematch.

– In Frederick County, former state’s attorney Scott L. Rolle defeated Judge Danny B. O’Connor, who was appointed in January, 51 percent to 48.7 percent.

– In Montgomery County, Judge Audrey A. Creighton, who has been on leave since her former client and boyfriend allegedly kidnapped and assaulted her earlier this year, was reelected to the bench. Creighton placed fourth out of the four sitting judges, defeating challenger Daniel Patrick Connell by roughly 13,000 votes. Connell wrote an open letter in July to the three other sitting judges questioning their endorsement of Creighton.

– In Wicomico County, Judge Jimmy Sarbanes, who was appointed in February, defeated Republican solo practitioner Melvin Caldwell Jr. by a count of 55 percent to 44 percent.

Sitting judges in Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Calvert, Carroll, Cecil, Harford, Prince George’s and Washington counties and Baltimore City all were re-elected without a challenger in the general election.

In other judicial election news, all of the state’s appellate court judges on the ballot were retained by voters. Court of Appeals Judge Shirley M. Watts and Court of Special Appeals Judge Michael W. Reed appeared on the ballot in Baltimore City; Court of Special Appeals Judge Douglas R.M. Nazarian appeared on the ballot in Baltimore and Harford counties; and Court of Special Appeals Judges Kevin F. Arthur and Andrea M. Leahy appeared on ballots across the state because they are at-large judges.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *