Maryland General Assembly re-elects Nancy Kopp treasurer

ANNAPOLIS — The Maryland General Assembly has re-elected Treasurer Nancy Kopp.

Lawmakers in the House and Senate gathered in a joint session for the vote on Wednesday.

It will be the fourth four-year term for Kopp, who is a Democrat from Montgomery County. William Campbell, a Republican, also was on the ballot.

As treasurer, Kopp is the state’s chief representative in working with financial rating agencies and investment banking firms. The treasurer also serves as chair of the Board of Trustees of the Maryland State Retirement Pension Systems.

The treasurer has one of three seats on the Board of Public Works, along with the governor and the comptroller. The board is responsible for approving state contracts exceeding $200,000.