Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Hogan rescinds state of emergency for 8 Md. counties

Gov. Larry Hogan today rescinded the state of emergency in eight Maryland counties — Garrett, Allegany, Washington, Frederick, Carroll, Montgomery, Howard, and Prince George’s — following projections that Hurricane Joaquin was moving away from the state’s Atlantic Coast.

But the governor left in place the emergency notice for the remaining 15 Maryland counties and for Baltimore City. The order allows the state to efficiently coordinate resources between jurisdictions to support response operations.

“With the storm moving away from our coasts, we are directing state resources to the counties and areas with the highest potential to need assistance,” Hogan said in a statement. “However, the majority of the state still remains under a state of emergency and rain and wind gusts could cause power outages and flooding in low-lying areas. We continue to encourage Marylanders to use common sense and look after family members and neighbors who might need help during this time.”

Residents can go to MEMA’s website,, for more flooding and hurricane preparedness information and can follow MEMA’s Twitter feed, @MDMEMA, and Facebook page,, for up-to-date information, the governor’s office said.

To report power outages, and find additional emergency contact information, click here.