Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Baltimore City Circuit Court sitting judges to file for re-election

The six sitting Baltimore City Circuit Court judges up for re-election will formally file as a slate Wednesday in Annapolis, according to their campaign.

Judges Shannon E. Avery, Audrey J.S. Carrion, Michael A. DiPietro, Karen Chaya Friedman, Wanda Keyes Heard and Cynthia H. Jones are running on the campaign slogan “We are Baltimore,” according to the campaign.

“They are one of the most diverse, experienced and legally skilled group of judges ever assembled to run for election in Baltimore City,” according to the campaign.

The judges will appear on both the Republican and Democratic primary ballots in April.

So far, two challengers have announced their candidacies for the bench: Baltimore City Councilman James B. Kraft and Assistant Public Defender Todd Oppenheim.

A sitting judge in Baltimore has not been unseated since 1982.