Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

The Daily Record announces Leadership in Law honorees

The Daily Record today announced its 2016 Leadership in Law honorees.

The top winner of this year’s Leadership in Law awards will be announced at the celebration event in conjunction with Law Day, May 5 at The Westin Annapolis. The honoree will be determined by a vote of this year’s Leadership in Law winners.

In addition, The Daily Record added two new categories to the Leadership in Law Awards: the Generation J.D. and Lifetime Achievement awards. Generation J.D. shines a light on young and rising lawyers who are already making their mark on the profession, in the courtroom and the community. The Lifetime Achievement award honors lawyers and judges who have made a career of exemplifying what it means to be a leader in the law.

In all, 38 members of the legal community throughout Maryland were recognized for their outstanding work.

“Leadership in Law honorees devote time, talent and energy to bettering the legal profession in addition to the communities in which they live and work,” said Suzanne Fischer-Huettner, publisher of The Daily Record. “They demonstrate a commitment to improving communities throughout our state through notable pro bono work and other means. They are also committed to mentoring, which is a key component of this award. The Daily Record is pleased to honor them.”

Nominees were asked to complete an application that outlined their career accomplishments, community involvement and mentoring activities that would distinguish them as outstanding leaders in the law. An external panel of judges and a representative of The Daily Record reviewed the nominations and made the selections.

For more information, visit the Leadership in Law event page.


Robert D. Anbinder
Baltimore City Law Department

Hon. Tiffany H. Anderson
The District Court of Maryland

Ivan J. Bates
Bates & Garcia PC

Marnell A. Cooper
Palmer|Cooper LLC

David V. Diggs
Kahn, Smith & Collins P.A.

Nancy McCutchan Duden
Anne Arundel County Office of Law

Robert L. Ferguson, Jr.
Ferguson, Schetelich & Ballew P.A.

Gerard J. Gaeng
Rosenberg Martin Greenberg LLP

Mike Goecke
Lerch Early & Brewer Chtd.

Hon. Kathryn Grill Graeff
Court of Special Appeals of Maryland

Jill Green
University of Baltimore School of Law

Lawrence Greenberg
Greenberg Law Office

Kristin Herber
Under Armour Inc.

Quinton M. Herbert
Office of the Labor Commissioner for Baltimore City

Matthew G. Hjortsberg
Bowie & Jensen LLC

Kelly Hughes Iverson
Goodell DeVries

Jay D. Miller
Law Offices of Peter G. Angelos PC

Hon. Doug Nazarian
Court of Special Appeals of Maryland

Lawrence E. Schmidt
Smith, Gildea & Schmidt LLC

Jane Frankel Sims
Law Office of Jane Frankel Sims LLC

Adam M. Spence
Spence | Brierley P.C.

Ferrier R. Stillman
Tydings & Rosenberg LLP

Brian Tucker
Gallagher Evelius & Jones LLP

Michele Bresnick Walsh
Gordon Feinblatt LLC

Becki L. Young
Hammond Young Immigration Law LLC


Tara A. Barnes
Rollins, Smalkin, Richards & Mackie LLC

Jamar R. Brown
Rosenberg Martin Greenberg LLP

Hon. John Alvin Henderson Jr.
U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

Jordan J. Lysczek
Lysczek Law Office PC

Kathleen McClernan
Southern Maryland Center for Family Advocacy

Benjamin Meredith
Iliff, Meredith, Wildberger, & Brennan PC

Heather R. Pruger
Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice LLP

Jeremy D. Rachlin

Michelle Daugherty Siri
The Women’s Law Center of Maryland

Ebony M. Thompson
Venable LLP

Thomas M. Weschler Jr.
Haspel & McLeod PC


Hon. Sheila R. Tillerson Adams
Prince George’s County Circuit Court

Ronald A. Baradel
Council, Baradel, Kosmerl & Nolan P.A.