Mandatory e-filing expands to four new counties in Md.

Daily Record Legal Affairs Writer//December 13, 2016

Mandatory e-filing expands to four new counties in Md.

By Lauren Kirkwood

//Daily Record Legal Affairs Writer

//December 13, 2016

Maryland’s electronic case filing system, known as Maryland Electronic Courts (MDEC), has expanded to Dorchester, Somerset, Wicomico and Worcester counties on the Eastern Shore.

Starting Monday, attorneys filing civil and criminal cases in district and circuit court in those counties, as well as appellate court filings that originate there, are required to use the e-filing system. Self-represented litigants in those counties have the option of using MDEC, but are not required to do so, according to the Maryland Judiciary.

“The Maryland Judiciary has made great progress in bringing electronic filing and case management to all Maryland state courts,” Court of Appeals Chief Judge Mary Ellen Barbera said in a news release. “Modernizing systems and streamlining processes are key parts of the Judiciary’s strategic plan for improving services for all who enter the courts. I appreciate the dedication and commitment demonstrated by every Judiciary employee throughout the design and implementation of this important project to benefit the people of Maryland.”

MDEC launched in October 2014 in Anne Arundel County and expanded to the Upper Eastern Shore, including Caroline, Cecil, Kent, Queen Anne’s and Talbot counties, in July.


Networking Calendar

Submit an entry for the business calendar