Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Morhaim reassigned from Health and Government Operations Committee

ANNAPOLIS — A Baltimore County delegate facing scrutiny from a legislative ethics panel has been reassigned off a committee he has served on for more than a decade.

Delegate Dan Morhaim. (file)

Delegate Dan Morhaim. (file)

Del. Dan K. Morhaim, D-Baltimore County, has been assigned to the House Judiciary Committee, according to a release outlining more than a dozen committee changes announced by House Speaker Michael E. Busch.

The list also includes naming the new chair and vice chair of the House Health and Government Operations Committee.

Morhaim previously served 14 years on the Health and Government Operations Committee and chaired the subcommittee on Government Operations where he was an authority on procurement issues.

In recent months, Morhaim has come under scrutiny of the Joint Legislative Ethics Committee who is reviewing his involvement with a company seeking a medical marijuana license even as he was a leader in the effort to legalize medicinal cannabis.

Morhaim is the clinical director of Doctor’s Orders, a company that sought a license under the state’s fledgling medical marijuana program.

The six-term delegate and licensed physician has said that he followed all disclosure laws.

The ethics panel has not publicly commented on Morhaim and all proceedings are confidential by law.

Del. Sandy Rosenberg, D-Baltimore City, will move from the Judiciary Committee to Health and Government Operations and assume Morhaim’s role as subcommittee chair.

In addition to the change involving Morhaim, Busch announced new leaders of the Health and Government Operations Committee following the departure of Del. Pete Hammen, D-Baltimore City, for a position with Mayor Catherine Pugh.

Del. Shane Pendergrass, D-Howard County, will be elevated from vice chair to chair of the position.

Del. Eric Bromwell, D-Baltimore County and one of the few remaining moderate Democrats in the House, will become the new vice chairman.

To purchase a reprint of this article, contact [email protected].