[Back to 2018 VIP Winners list]

Jon Kucskar

Advisor to the President
University of Maryland, Baltimore

kucskar-jonmf07If Jon Kucskar were to sum up his philosophy on his life and career, it’d echo a sign that hangs in his mother’s house: “Service is the rent we pay for living.”

Dedicating his entire professional career to public service, Kucskar has served in a number of leadership roles including Deputy Legal Counsel to Gov. Martin O’Malley, Senior Commission Advisor to the Maryland Public Service Commission and Advisor to President Jay A. Perman at the University of Maryland, Baltimore.

During his tenure as Senior Commission Advisor, Kucskar lead the design, establishment and implementation of the Public Service Commission’s grid modernization program to address the changing climate and energy resource landscape. The Public Conference 44 (PC44) project ensures Maryland’s electric systems will be more customer-centric, affordable, reliable and environmentally sustainable.

In his current role as Advisor to the President, Kucskar coordinates the University’s efforts to acquire and build a new Community Engagement Center in West Baltimore – which will increase the opportunities for members of the community to gain skills through job training and pursue passions, such as yoga.

Kucskar is currently the Board President for the Downtown Baltimore Family Alliance, and serves on the boards of the University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law Alumni Board and the Bolton Hill Community Association. He also serves as a youth soccer coach for the Charles Village Recreation League.

“Jon’s professional attributes should carry him far in his future career endeavors. He is extremely intelligent, driven and respected and admired by his colleagues. Jon also has a strong commitment to public service and a passion for environmental stewardship. I have no doubt he will make a profound and far-reaching contributions to our State in the years to come,” says W. Kevin Hughes, Chairman of the Maryland Public Service Commission.

[Back to 2018 VIP Winners list]