Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Hogan names judges to circuit, district courts

Maryland Gov. Larry Hogan on Wednesday named a longtime solo practitioner and career-long prosecutor to circuit court judgeships in Baltimore and St. Mary’s counties, respectively.

The governor also selected an administrative law judge and an assistant Maryland attorney general to district court judgeships in Harford and Anne Arundel counties.

Incoming Baltimore County Circuit Court Judge Andrew Martin Battista will succeed retired Judge Susan Souder. Battista, a solo practitioner since 1993, graduated from the University of Baltimore School of Law. Prior to going on his own, Battista worked at Hardwick, Tripoda and Harris in Baltimore and Marlow, Peddicord and Young in Towson, according to a biography from the governor’s office.

Deputy St. Mary’s County State’s Attorney Joseph Michael Stanalonis will take a seat on the St. Mary’s County Circuit Court, succeeding retired Judge Karen H. Abrams. Stanalonis, a University of Baltimore School of Law graduate, also served as senior assistant state’s attorney.

Kerwin Anthony Miller Sr. will join the district court in Harford County, succeeding retired Judge Victor K. Butanis. Miller, a Southwestern University School of Law graduate, has been an administrative law judge since 2016 after serving as Cecil County deputy state’s attorney.

Assistant Maryland Attorney General Sidney Allen Butcher will join the district court in Anne Arundel County, succeeding retired Judge Jonas D. Legum. Butcher, a University of Kansas School of Law graduate, also served as a Baltimore City assistant state’s attorney and at Whiteford Taylor Preston LLP.


To purchase a reprint of this article, contact