Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

On the Record

The Daily Record's law news blog

One judge, three attorneys vie for Court of Special Appeals seat

Maryland Gov. Larry Hogan will likely choose the next judge on the state’s second highest court from among a trial judge and three attorneys.

The Appellate Judicial Nominating Commission has forwarded to Hogan’s desk as candidates for a Court of Special Appeals vacancy Anne Arundel County Circuit Judge Laura S. Ripken, who chairs the Maryland Conference of Circuit Judges; Jeremy M. McCoy, an assistant Maryland attorney general; William E. Nolan, of the U.S. Justice Department’s civil rights division; and Edward H. Robbins Jr., of Miles & Stockbridge in Baltimore.

Hogan is not bound to make his choice from the commission’s suggestions, but it has been gubernatorial practice for nearly 50 years.

The governor’s appointee will succeed Timothy E. Meredith, who stepped down from the state’s second-highest court this year.

Hogan’s choice will be subject to Senate confirmation.

Meredith held the Fifth Appellate Judicial Circuit Seat on the 15-member Court of Special Appeals. The circuit covers Anne Arundel, Calvert, Charles and St. Mary’s counties.

To purchase a reprint of this article, contact [email protected].