Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Coppin State starts Featherstone HBCU College Scholarship Award

The William & Lanaea C. Featherstone Foundation and Coppin State University announced a strategic partnership Thursday aimed at creating economic and professional opportunities for students from underrepresented communities.

In 2021, the partnership will award $3,000 Featherstone HBCU Scholarships to high-achieving students. This initiative is part of the Featherstone Foundation’s College and Career Readiness portfolio that will award 30 college scholarships through a $68,000 fund this year.

The Featherstone HBCU Scholarships underscore the Featherstone Foundation’s commitment to historically Black colleges and universities (HBCUs). The foundation offers merit-based awards for higher education and paid internship opportunities for Baltimore City students to gain professional experience at leading corporations.

The 2021 inaugural Coppin State University’s Featherstone HBCU College Scholarship Award recipients are:

  • Dayson Brooks, College of Behavioral and Social Sciences
  • Cathryn Lane, College of Health Professions
  • Joseph Manu, College of Arts, Sciences and Education
  • Michael Michael, College of Business

Since 2017, the Featherstone Foundation has awarded over $156,000 in scholarships through 72 awards to students from 19 countries who now attend Coppin State University, Cornell University, Goucher College, Morgan State University, Northwestern University, The University of Baltimore, St. Mary’s College of Maryland and the University of Maryland.


To purchase a reprint of this article, contact [email protected].