Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Howard County appoints new police chief

Gregory J. Der speaks at a Monday ceremony at which he was announced as Howard County’s new police chief, effective Jan. 1. (Submitted Photo)

Howard County Executive Calvin Ball on Monday appointed Gregory J. Der chief of police in Howard County. Der, a former officer with the department, currently serves as chief deputy in the Maryland State Fire Marshal’s office.

Der, whose appointment is effective Jan. 1, 2022, succeeds Chief Lisa Myers, who announced her retirement earlier this month.

Der will be first person of Asian descent to lead the Howard County Police Department. As the chief deputy for the state fire marshal, Der oversees all sworn and civilian staff, supervisors, and managers stationed at six regional offices throughout Maryland. He also is responsible for the progression and resolution of statewide fire, arson, and explosive investigations, coordinating with other local, state, and federal resources.

Der started his career in 1997 as a narcotics detective and patrol officer with the Easton Police Department before joining the Howard County Police Department in 1999. He served as a school resource officer, hostage negotiator, property crimes detective, and fire and explosives investigator, retiring in August 2017.