Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Leadership Maryland graduates Class of 2021

Leadership Maryland Thursday announced that 49 members of the Class of 2021 have completed the professional development program dedicated to building a better Maryland by harnessing the strength of its local business and community leaders.

Leadership Maryland honored the entire Class of 2021 at its 28th annual graduation ceremony Dec. 7 at the Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport.

Each member of this year’s class was chosen by committee to complete Leadership Maryland’s eight-month hands-on learning program. The class participated in an orientation and closing retreat that bookended five, two-day sessions focused on Maryland’s five main geographic regions and the most vital issues impacting economic development, education, health and human services, criminal justice, the environment, and multi-culturalism/diversity across the state. The class was originally selected as the Class of 2020 but was postponed one year due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Leadership Maryland is open to senior-level executives with significant achievements in either their careers and/or their communities. Ideal Leadership Maryland members have a desire to learn more about Maryland’s most critical issues and a personal commitment to be a force for positive change in their organizations, their communities and their state.

The Leadership Maryland Class of 2021 includes:

Amanda N. Allen
Government & Community Affairs Manager

Adrianne M. Arthur
Executive Director
University of Maryland Strategic Partnership

Nichole Doye Battle, MBA
Chief Executive Officer

R. Andrew “Andy” Bauer
Vice President & Regional Executive
Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond, Baltimore Branch

Denise L. Beaver, CecD
Deputy Director
Carroll County Department of Economic Development

Dr. Mary W. Bolt
Cecil College

Matthew Bolyard, MBA
Vice President
Southway Builders Inc.

Christopher P. “Chris” Breedlove
Chief of Zoning Enforcement
Calvert County Government

Lauren T. Buckler, PE, CEM, LEED, AP
Deputy Director, Department of Public Works & Transportation
Baltimore County Government

Lucas I. Cade
Senior Economic Development Advisor
Potomac Edison – A First Energy Company

Patricia “Patty” Carper
Division Vice President
The Whiting-Turner Contracting Company

Brian Cleary
Chief Information Officer

Jennifer “Jen” Combs
Managing Director
Accenture Federal Services

Danielle L. Conrow
Senior Team Engineer
Rodgers Consulting, Inc.

David J. “Dave” Corkum
Chief Growth Officer
CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield

Suzanne Luers Crawford
Director of Administration
University of Maryland-Baltimore County

Melissa S. Drew
Senior Quality Manager
Holder Construction Company

Nancy L. Easterling
Executive Director
Historic Sotterley Inc.

Michele S. Eberle, MBA
Executive Director
Maryland Health Benefit Exchange

Dr. Chrys Egan
Associate Dean, Fulton School of Liberal Arts
Salisbury University

Enas Y. Elhanafi, M.Phil, MPPA, M.S.Ed
Associate Director of Community Engagement, Director Global Nexus Program
Montgomery College

Kelly Ennis
Founder/Managing Principal
The Verve Partnership LLC

Elizabeth “Liz” Fitzsimmons
Managing Director, Office of Tourism and Film
Maryland Department of Commerce

Kendrick T. Gibbs
Acting Deputy Director, Office of Equity, Diversity and Inclusion
National Institutes of Health

William Robert Hair
Superintendent and CEO
Maryland School for the Blind

Heidi Hammel, PMP, GISP
Vice President
KCI Technologies, Inc.

John J. Horner Jr., MBA
Senior Vice President & COO
Easton Utilities

Arthur A. Jones-Dove, PE, PMP, CCM, MBA, PgMP
Vice President
Atkins, member of SNC-Lavalin Group

Lisa Kemp, CPA
Independent consultant
Deena Deese Kilmon

Director of Engagement
The Arc Central Chesapeake Region

Irene Katherine “Kathy” Magruder, CEcD
Executive Director
Maryland Clean Energy Center

Kim I. McCalla
Associate Vice President Facilities, Design and Construction
Morgan State University

Chris McDonell
President & CEO
McDonell Consulting Group/Sandler Training

Austin L. Miller
Chief Technology Officer – MTA
Maryland Department of Transportation

Dr. Robert C. Mock Jr.
Chief of Staff
University of Maryland-Eastern Shore

Luisella Perri, Esq.
Holland & Knight LLP

Wendi Wagner Peters
Special Secretary of Smart Growth
State of Maryland

Dr. Bradley D. Phillips
Executive Director
Maryland Association of Community Colleges

Mark J. Potter
President & CEO
Maryland Science Center

Antonio P. Salazar, Esq.
Commissioner of Financial Regulation
Maryland Department of Labor

Arti Santhanam, Ph.D.
Executive Director, Maryland Innovation Initiative
Maryland Technology Development Corp. (TEDCO)

James C. “Jim” Schmutz
President & CEO
Special Olympics Maryland, Inc.

Susan L. Schnaars
Vice President – Senior Investment Advisor
Wilmington Trust

Sharon Markley Schreiber
Chief Operating Officer
Economic Alliance of Greater Baltimore

Sarah J. Shin, Ph.D.
Associate Provost for Academic Affairs
University of Maryland-Baltimore County

Dr. James Scott Smith
St. Mary’s County Public Schools

Corey E. Stottlemyer
Director, Strategic Customer Service
Maryland Department of Transportation

Richard A. Tabuteau, Esq.
Attorney & Lobbyist
Tabuteau LLC

Reggie Turner
Turner Wealth Management