Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Ravens announce inaugural class of Ozzie Newsome Scholarship recipients

Members of the inaugural class of Ozzie Newsome Scholars visit the final day of minicamp for the Baltimore Ravens June 17 at the Ravens practice facilities in Owings Mills. (

Five Baltimore City School System (BCPSS) graduates were chosen by each of Maryland’s four Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) – Bowie State University, Coppin State University, Morgan State University and the University of Maryland, Eastern Shore – to become the inaugural class of Ozzie Newsome Scholars, the Baltimore Ravens announced Monday.

Ravens owner Steve Bisciotti and his wife, Renee, created the Ozzie Newsome Scholars Program, which funds scholarships for BCPSS graduates who attend an HBCU in Maryland in honor of Ozzie Newsome – the Ravens’ longtime personnel executive and Pro Football Hall of Famer.  The Stephen and Renee Bisciotti Foundation made a $4 million gift in his name to Maryland’s HBCUs, providing $1 million in scholarship funds to each.

Beginning with this school year, 20 new freshmen scholars will be selected every year for four years, producing a total of 80 Ozzie Newsome Scholars throughout the course of the program.

Ozzie Newsome Scholars will receive an annual college scholarship of $10,000 for up to five years of college, for a total investment of up to $50,000 per scholar. Ozzie Newsome Scholars will participate in the CollegeBound Foundation’s College Completion Program. The Bisciotti Foundation donated an additional $400,000 to the CollegeBound Foundation to fund the Newsome Scholar’s participation in the College Completion Program.

Through CollegeBound, the scholars will be guided by a college completion advisor, work with a peer mentor (an upperclassman on campus at the HBCU) and join other Baltimore City Public Schools graduates in an overnight “transition to college workshop.” The scholars will also partake in three annual skill-building seminars.

The 2022-23 Ozzie Newsome Scholars are:

Bowie State University Coppin State University
D’Amini Cheatham Adeseyi Adekanbi
Riauna Janae Poole Tamya Bellamy
Asia Aaliyah Ross Trevon Dorsey
Zarielle Simms Felicite Ogu
Aaron R. Sloan Melaina Phillips
Morgan State University University of Maryland, Eastern Shore
Kiyah Banks Ziare Diggs
Gafanique Francis Jacob Dungey
Michelle James TyJuan Hawkins
Raegan Jennings Ahmad Lee
Isaac Nwaturocha Emmanuel Reid