Ammon Heisler Sachs Architects’ space is designed to foster creativity and connectivity for its team, clients and community alike. The building, built in 1871 and rehabilitated in the 1980s, has an original cast-iron façade that was manufactured in Baltimore.
The space complements the old with the new and the industrial with the modern. Rustic reclaimed wood, dark metals and stone countertops set a warmer tone for the space, while a neutral palette offset with pops of color creates a branded experience.
The space has several collaboration zones: two huddle rooms, one located on the east side of the office and the other on the west, named East Egg and West Egg for once-Baltimore resident F. Scott Fitzgerald’s novel “The Great Gatsby”; a main conference room named The Foundry as a nod to the cast-iron façade of the building; a work room with a layout table and materials library; a main library with an eye-catching, blueprint-inspired map of Baltimore on the wall; and a large break room, called the Cake Room.
One can see exposed bearing walls throughout the original portion of the office. During the restoration of the building (which was also enlarged), floors were raised, leaving joist pockets indicating where the third floor met the top third of a second floor masonry door opening—making it look like a fireplace.
All of this creates conversation and invokes thought about how the building was constructed. The large, arched windows in the historical part of the building let ample daylight into the office, allowing natural light to fill the space.