Historic Trentham Mansion

Imagine waking up every day and going to work at an 18th-century mansion that is rumored to be haunted by the spirit of a former resident. This unique scenario is a workday reality for the women of Devaney & Associates, a full-service advertising, marketing and public relations agency in Owings Mills.

The agency has called the Trentham Mansion home since June 2015; however, the historic house still remains a key part of Baltimore County’s architectural history.

The estate was built in 1746 by Rev. Thomas Cradock on top of the land that was given to him as dowry when he married High Sheriff John Risteau’s daughter, Catherine Risteau. Cradock named the building after the Free School of Trentham in Staffordshire, England, where he had taught.

Besides living in the mansion, the couple also ran a boarding school for boys on the grounds. The original home was damaged by a fire in 1857 and rebuilt in 1860; however, the octagonal bathhouse that still sits at the mansion’s entrance dates to 1747 and has been restored to preserve the building’s rich history and design.

The agency modified the mansion to fit a business environment and to reflect its style while preserving the mansion’s history. The agency’s art directors played a key role in personalizing the workspace with custom light fixtures and vibrant color schemes and décor that adorns the walls and floors.

Features in the office include soundproof floral panels in the conference room, a loft with a clawfoot bathtub and a Sandtown Millworks table made out of wood reclaimed from old Baltimore row houses.

Property Details
Name of the Place
Historic Trentham Mansion
Address
135 Village Queen Drive, Owings Mills, MD 21117
Phone
(410) 296-0800
Website
https://devaney.net/