The Daily Record names its 2013 Influential Marylanders

The Daily Record is proud to announce its 2013 Influential Marylanders. Since 2006, The Daily Record has honored people who have each made truly significant impacts in their fields and continue to be leaders in the state. The honorees are selected by The Daily Record’s editors.

Senate President Thomas V. Mike Miller Jr. handed a proclamation Thursday evening to Suzanne Fischer-Huettner, publisher of The Daily Record. The plaque commemorates 125 years of the newspaper, whose first issue was Oct. 2, 1888. (Photo by Maximilian Franz)

One of this year’s winners, William C. Baker of the Chesapeake Bay Foundation, will join the Circle of Influence, meaning he has won the award three times.

This year’s winners will be recognized at a reception Thursday, March 21 at The Grand Lodge in Cockeysville.

For more information and to purchase tickets to the event, visit the Influential Marylanders website.

The winners are:


William C. Baker, Chesapeake Bay Foundation (Circle of Influence inductee)

Gita Deane and Lisa Polyak, Marriage equality proponents

Gigi Godwin, Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce

Jan Houbolt, The LEADERship

James J. White, Maryland Port Administration


Laurie DeYoung, WPOC

J.P. Grant, III, Grant Capital Management/Race On LLC

Jim Lee, Carroll County Times

Scott Rolle, “Brad Meltzer’s Decoded” (History Channel)

Gerry Sandusky, Baltimore Ravens


Memo Diriker, Salisbury University

Sandra L. Kurtinitis, Community College of Baltimore County

Wallace Loh, University of Maryland

DeRionne Pollard, Montgomery College

John W. Swope,  S.J. Cristo Rey Jesuit High School


Karen Barbour, The Barbour Group

Marty Brunk, McGladrey

T. Eloise Foster, Md. Dept. of Budget & Management

Abba D. Poliakoff, Gordon Feinblatt

Daniel J. Schrider, Sandy Spring Bancorp


Ray Lewis, Baltimore Ravens

Stephen L. Martino, Maryland State Lottery Agency

Buck Showalter, Baltimore Orioles

Larry Simns, Maryland Watermen’s Association

Cindy Wolf, Foreman Wolf


Robert A. Chrencik, University of Maryland Medical Systems

Claire M. Fraser, University of Maryland Medical School, Institute for Genome Sciences

Martha N. Hill, Johns Hopkins School of Nursing

Eduardo D. Rodriguez, University of Maryland Medical Center

Kevin Sexton, Holy Cross Health


Kevin A. Dunne, Ober|Kaler

Guy E. Flynn, DLA Piper LLP (U.S.)

Sherrilyn Ifill, NAACP Legal Defense and Education Fund

Hon. Irma S. Raker, Maryland Access to Justice Commission

Michael Schatzow, Venable LLP


Peter G. Angelos, Law Offices of Peter G. Angelos, P.C.

LuAnn and Jay Blackman, Foundation Fighting Blindness

Deborah Flateman, Maryland Food Bank

Martin Lampner, Chimes

Lisa Rusyniak, Goodwill Industries of the Cheaspeake


Michael Beatty, Harbor East Development Group

Howard S. Brown, David S. Brown Enterprises

Chickie Grayson, Enterprise Homes, Inc.

Blair Lee, Lee Development Group

Kevin Plank, Under Armour


Jana Davis, Chesapeake Bay Trust

Thomas H. Graham, Pepco

Ellen Hemmerly, bwtech@UMBC

Brian J. Ippolito, Orbis Technologies

Ed Woods, TerpSys