Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Tag Archives: U.S. Sen. Barbara Mikulski

Maryland’s ‘Sen. Barb’ bids farewell

WASHINGTON — Maryland Democratic Sen. Barbara Mikulski, a 40-year veteran of Congress and a tough-as-nails advocate for Maryland, the poor and women’s rights, said farewell to the Senate on Wednesday, recalling her roots as a Baltimore community activist and her ...

Read More »

Maryland awarded $800K to restore oysters in Chesapeake Bay

WASHINGTON — The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration has awarded $800,000 to Maryland to help restore the Chesapeake Bay’s oyster population. Sens. Barbara Mikulski and Ben Cardin announced the award in a news release Tuesday. The award to the Maryland ...

Read More »

Mikulski to co-chair hearing on child care

WASHINGTON — Sen. Barbara Mikulski is co-chairing a bipartisan hearing on access to child care. The Maryland Democrat will co-chair the hearing on Wednesday in Washington with North Carolina Sen. Richard Burr. The hearing will focus on challenges different states ...

Read More »

Seven state legislators work on State Circle, have their eyes on Capitol Hill

Six state lawmakers are campaigning this year to leave the State House in favor of a seat in the U.S. Capitol, and a seventh says he will file campaign documents within a week with hope to make the move to Congress as well.

Read More »

Social Security HQ in Woodlawn in line for $150M renovation

The U.S. Social Security Administration headquarters in Woodlawn is slated for a $150 million renovation. The funding, contained in the recently enacted consolidated federal appropriations  measure,was announced Tuesday morning by U.S. Sen. Barbara A. Mikulski, SSA acting Commissioner Carolyn Colvin, ...

Read More »

Obama recognizes Mikulski, others with nation’s highest civilian award

WASHINGTON — President Barack Obama will recognize 17 people on Tuesday with the nation’s highest civilian award, the Presidential Medal of Freedom. Entertainers receiving the award are Barbra Streisand, Steven Spielberg, Stephen Sondheim, Gloria and Emilio Estefan, James Taylor and ...

Read More »